Hit and Run Accident
A hit-and-run accident can be one of the worst types of accidents for a victim to be involved in. The injured victim is left with injuries and medical bills, with no one to hold responsible. Pfeifer Law firm, an Arkansas car accident lawyer, can help persons injured in hit-and-run. Usually when a hit-and-run happens, the at-fault driver flees the scene because he or she doesn't have insurance, is drunk, or is driving on a suspended license. Unfortunately cyclists and pedestrians are usually involved in such accidents, which can lead to serious and devastating injuries.
If the driver responsible for the auto accident can’t be located, the injured party’s insurance coverage can be utilized to pay the damages caused in the car wreck. In Arkansas, all auto policies are required to offer uninsured motorist coverage and personal injury protection. Uninsured motorist coverage must be offered in the minimum amount of $25,000.00 to cover the damages including medical bills, lost wages and pain and suffering caused by an uninsured driver. Under most circumstances, a hit-and-run driver who flees and can’t be located is considered an uninsured driver under Arkansas car accident law.
Personal injury protection insurance coverage must be offered in the amount of $5,000 for medical bills. Income disability benefits must be offered as well under the personal injury protection coverage in Arkansas car insurance contracts (“PIP” coverage).
A hit-and-run accident is defined as the party's failure to stop after the accident. When someone is involved in a hit-and-run, he or she is required by Arkansas state law to stop and exchange information with all involved parties. If a hit-and-run accident happens and there aren't any witnesses present, the at-fault driver is required to stop his or her vehicle and leave a note that includes all relevant information to contact them. This requirement is considered a report of the accident and not an admission of guilt on their part.
If you are the victim of a hit-and-run car accident, it is important that you protect your rights. Immediately following the accident, assess your physical injuries. Call 911 so that the police can be notified and can arrive to the scene of the crash as soon as possible. If you were able to obtain any information at all regarding the at-fault driver or the automobile, write down the information immediately so that you don't forget and convey that to the police when they arrive. Every piece of information that you can give the police regarding the car and/or driver that fled the scene is important. If there are any witnesses to the accident, ask for their names and telephone numbers and write them down. Give witness information to the police as well. Witnesses are extremely important in a car accident situation.
If you suffered personal injuries in the car wreck and the other driver can’t be located, your insurance coverage may provide important coverage that will pay for medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering.
If you have been involved in a hit-and-run car wreck, call an experienced Arkansas hit-and-run car accident attorney so that you can be informed of your rights and how to proceed so your rights are protected. Call the Pfeifer Law Firm at 501-374-4440 for a free consultation. Weekend and after-hours consultations are available by appointment. The consultation is free, and you don't pay us anything unless we recover money for you.